Parking permit dispensers
Those not wishing to pay for a permit may park off campus. A second option for both students and visitors is to purchase a daily permit for $5. Yellow daily permit machines (click here for map) are installed at various locations on campus. Place the daily permit Face up on the driver's side, front dashboard so that it is visible to the Public Safety staff.I lost my parking permit halfway through the semester. Do I need to buy another permit at full price?
Yes, permits for additional vehicles and replacement permits are sold online at www.thepermitstore.com or at the Department of Public Safety. You must report your permit if it is lost or stolen to the DPS office.I received a parking ticket but I disagree with the grounds on which it was given to me. How do I dispute the citation?
Citation disputes are handled at the Public Safety office. You may appeal your citation on the at www.scapay.com. Be sure to have your vehicle plate or citation to complete the appeal. All appeals must be completed within (21) days of issuance of the citation, after (21) days you cannot appeal the citation and late fess are accessed.
Here are some general reasons that violations won't be dismissed.What happens to people who refuse to pay parking citations?
The Bakersfield College Department of Public Safety issues parking citations in accordance with the provisions listed in the California Vehicle Code. If the bail of a citation is not paid within 21 days of the due date, the bail increases. Unpaid citations are reported to the California Department of Motor vehicles; regardless of the State, the vehicle is registered. The DMV will not allow vehicles to be registered with delinquent parking citations. To register a vehicle with delinquent parking citations all fines and associated fees must be paid along with the fees associated with registration costs.
Vehicles with five or more unpaid campus parking citations may be towed without notice to the owner from college properties and stored at the owner's expense.I am not sure where to place my parking permit. How do I know where it goes?
Parking permits are designed to be affixed to the inside, left lower portion of the front windshield your vehicle. Please check the instructions, which came with the permit itself or call 395.4554 to receive instructions from an officer or DPS staff member.How do I get help if my car breaks down while on college property?
Public Safety Officers are committed to serving our college community. If you need motorist assistance, you may contact the Bakersfield College Department of Public Safety from any phone on campus by dialing extension 4554 or from any regular or cellular phone by dialing 395-4554.If I do not have a permit, can I put a note on my dashboard and park anywhere?
NO. Notes, money, expired permits, or permits which are altered nor are hazard lights honored in lieu of a permit. Parking permits are enforced everyday except Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays or by special event pre-authorization.I am visiting on official business. Do I need a permit?
Yes. All visitors need a permit. You can visit the Department of Public Safety for a one-day permit or contact the Bakersfield College member that has sponsored your visit. They can arrange with DPS to have a temporary permit issued to you.I loaned my car to a friend and they were cited for parking violation. Am I responsible for the ticket?
Yes. The registered owner is responsible for the citation. Whether you are told by the person or not, if you loan your vehicle to someone, make sure Bakersfield College Parking Regulations are known. Bakersfield College parking citations, if unpaid are forwarded to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) if they are not paid within the 21-day time limit. The DMV will not allow you to register your vehicle until the citation is paid.Where can I get more information?
You can call the Bakersfield College Department of Public Safety 24 hours a day, seven days a week. You will speak with a DPS Officer who will answer you questions.What should I do if I receive a citation at Bakersfield College?
You can pay this citation at www.scapay.com or mail your payment in the form of check or money order to: iParq, P.O. Box 2358, Santa Barbara, CA 93120-2358. MAKE SURE TO INCLUDE VEHICLE LICENSE NUMBER OR CITATION NUMBER ON YOUR FORM OF PAYMENT.
You can appeal your citation by logging onto www.scapay.com You will need your citation or the license plate number to the vehicle the citation was issued to.
Failure to pay your citation within the due date specified on your citation, the fee will increase to $65.00. If you do not resolve your citation after that a DMV Hold will be placed on your vehicle registration and a report will be filed and submitted to the Dean of Students.